

City of La Crosse, Wisconsin

City Hall 400 La Crosse Street La Crosse, WI 54601

Department Details

Department name: Human Rights Commission

Type: Board or Commission

Meeting time:

Meeting location:

Primary contact:

Description: The Human Rights Commission receives, initiates and investigates all complaints alleging

discriminatory practice with respect to any discriminatory practice prohibited by City Ordinance. The Human Rights Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation of the Common Council. One member shall be a member of the Common Council. Members must be City residents, one of whom shall be designated Chair by the members of the Commission. Members serve three-year terms. *Ordinance 4855, which was approved on 12/11/14, changed the name of this commission from Equal Opportunities Commission to Human Rights Commission. *Ordinance 5256 reduced the

commission to 7 members.

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
A Xiong Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	3/8/2018	3/9/2026	
Claire Bakalars Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	5/11/2023	5/11/2026	
Gretchen Guinn Paquette Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	4/13/2023	4/13/2026	
Julia McDermid Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	2/8/2018	3/1/2024 *	
Mac Kiel Appointed By: Mayor	Council Member	5/13/2021	4/15/2025	
Tashyra Bernard Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	5/13/2021	5/13/2024 *	
Tracy Littlejohn Appointed By: Mayor	Citizen	5/13/2021	5/13/2024 *	

^{*} indicates extended term